William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize

MGA Call for entries

Entries now invited

The MGA Foundation has announced two changes to the 2017 William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize: an increased prize of $30,000 for the winning work and, for the first time in the history of the prize, MGA will acquire the winning entry.

The prize money goes to one individual rather than being distributed through a range of different nominations and commendations, which often happens with prizes. It’s a sum of money that can actually make a significant difference to one artist’s working life,’ said Stephen Zagala, MGA Senior Curator and 2017 judge.

Judging panel

This year’s panel consists of Australian architect, art patron and academic Corbett Lyon, artist and educator Dr Susan Fereday, and MGA Senior Curator Stephen Zagala.

Key dates

Entries open: 31 May 2017 – (5pm) 12 July 2017

Finalists announced: 28 August 2017

Exhibition dates: 14 October – 26 November 2017

Opening and announcement: Thursday 19 October 2017

Read more

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.